BEACH HOUSE SAGA #6

IS THERE PEACE AT THE BEACH HOUSE?

Sam Harley had returned to his secluded beach house on the Florida coast

only to find an intruder.

Sitting in his living area sat Dr. Peggy Mitchell.

Taking it in stride as if it happens every day of the week

Sam asked, “Care for a drink Dr.?”

“No, thanks, but don’t keep my not drinking away from your pleasures Mr. Harley.”

“Oh, it won’t. By my clock, it’s cocktail time.”

As Sam went over to his bar and poured himself a glass of scotch.

“How did you get into my place?”

“Your gate keeper accepted money. Nice boy.”

“You know you are not invited,

and I can call the police and have you arrested for trespassing.”


“Yes, but you won’t Agent Harley.”

“You seem to know all about me. However, that doesn’t really matter now.

I can’t help you solve a murder when there wasn’t a murder.

Your sister, Patricia committed suicide. End of story.

Now you can leave the same way you can in.”

“No, I can’t, and I won’t. There is a large sum of money involved.”

“What are you talking about?”

“My sister, Patricia left an insurance policy of over two million dollars to me.

But I’m not able to collect it because of the act of suicide.”

“Oh, I see.”

“I need your help in getting the police report changed to murder.”

Sam laughed out loud at the doctor’s comment.

“You think that’s easy to do?”

“My sources tell me that you know a lot more in this case that you are letting on.”

“Your sources are wrong, dead wrong, doctor.”

“I’m willing to pay you any amount you name.”

“You can’t afford me.”

“Try me?”

“One million.” It was a number Sam just throw out there

because he didn’t want the job.

“Deal.”

Doctor Mitchell smiled at Sam and

picked up her sun hat and walked herself to the door.

She turned and said, “I’ll be in touch. Thank you.”

(To be continued)

Leave a comment