Honeymoon in Paris Saga #10

Sam Harley was rarely speechless, but this was one of those times.

He just found out that his bride was still married to another guy.

Inside, Sam was smiling.

Maybe there is a guardian angel looking after him.

“Why don’t we all sit down and have a drink and talk this out.”

William seemed like a reasonable gent.

William smiled at Sam accepted a drink from him.

“Sam, you look like a nice guy. I’m so sorry she put you through this.

My wife has been through a lot of trauma the last few years.

Claudia was diagnosed with brain cancer three years ago and underwent surgery.

It was successful in removing the cancer, but she lost most of her memory.

I’ve had her in the best care and hospital for the past two years

but six months ago she escaped the hospital.

Noone, including me, knew of her whereabouts

until two days ago. Her friends saw her TV interview and called me.

I came to Paris to find her

and take her home for more treatment.”

“Claudia, is this true?” asked Sam.

“I made a big mistake. I guess I shouldn’t have talked to the press.

William would never have found me.”

Sam was shocked after hearing about Claudia’s cancer and treatments.

His smiling inside stopped and looked at the circumstances differently.

Sam spoke softly to Claudia,

“Since you are legally married to William Weiss, I’m not legally married to you.

Claudia, do you understand? William is taking you home.”

“Oh, Sam don’t be a sore loser.”

“Sam’s right, we are still married, so why not pack up your clothes

and we can get back to Texas, tonight.

I have my private plane at the airport ready to go.”

“Perfect. I’ll have my attorney contact you, Claudia.”

William Weiss was embarrassed over the situation

and handed Sam his business card.

“Let me deal with your attorney. I’m so very sorry about this mess.”

Sam replied, “So am I.”

Sam was sorry but in a different way.

He was married for only four days and now, instantly he was single again.

Life wasn’t fair to Claudia and him.

Sam tried to look on the brighter side of this situation,

he could move back to his Paris apartment

without having to redecorate.

Sam kissed Claudia on both cheeks before she walked out of his life.

“Goodbye, my darling.”

(To be continued)

Leave a comment